Tags

, , , , , ,

I haven’t quite wrapped my head around Indiegogo… I get the concept, but I haven’t really gotten too excited about it. I’m sure it’s worthy of some excitement and I’ve made a point of diving in and wrapping my head around it; I just haven’t. It’s not a lack of understanding of concept… really, it’s a lack of statistics I think. I just haven’t done the research to find the numbers to see if it does what it sets out to do. If it does (which I’m sure it does) then I love it! If not, it’s still fun.

Tesla’s Tower

Anyway, here’s something that is fun enough to get me to do my homework: The “Let’s Build a Goddamn Tesla Museum” project which aims to… wait for it… build a Tesla museum. There’s much more of a story behind it though:

“Tesla’s final laboratory is located in the sleepy town of Shoreham, New York.  It’s known as Wardenclyffe and it’s where Tesla attempted to build a tower that would provide free wireless energy to the entire earth. Unfortunately, Tesla lost his funding before the project was completed and in 1917 the Wardenclyffe tower was demolished.  Subsequently, the land was sold to a film and paper manufacturer.

However, the land, laboratory, and foundation beneath the tower are still there and very recently went up for sale. And right now a non-profit is trying to buy the property and turn it into a Nikola Tesla Museum.”

It’s a beautiful little concept; check it out for yourself. Perhaps make a little donation. Unfortunately I haven’t yet, for reasons I think most haven’t… I’m broke! (this is probably where my doubt for Indiegogo’s sustainability and my hesitation to do my homework on the matter stems)

SIDE NOTE: If you check out the screenshot below you will be as happy as I am to see the project is at an incredible $491,113!

