… An interesting and unique perspective

Wayne Hale's Blog

When you are in a High Reliability Organization, you have to pay attention.  The more extreme the risk, the more difficult the environment, the more complex the technology, the more attention you must pay.  But life intrudes.  As the song says, there are planes to catch and bills to pay, and too there are little children to play with.  You cannot work all the time, and if the balance gets too far either way, a price will be exacted.  Once upon a time I wrote:  “pay attention, do good work, have no regrets”.  True, but far too simplistic. 

In 2002 I thought we were paying the right level of attention to the shuttle.  I thought I was paying the right level of attention to the shuttle.  I was a Flight Director.  I was also a husband and a father and active in my community.  I thought I could do it…

View original post 1,359 more words

