Tags

, , , , , ,

Here’s a video I found on Red Ice Creations that breaks down a couple of apparent Photoshopping errors in NASA’s recently released pictures of the Gale Crater on Mars.

This doesn’t exactly reflect well on NASA, and it has certainly got me wondering about the other pictures they release which I love dearly. It’s not a big deal, but it will probably be in the back of my mind for a while.

Anyway, check it out: It’s not an attack on NASA, and the video’s creator is very clear about that (check out the quote below). It’s just a simple observation with a dash of disappointment.

I want to be clear that I am not attacking NASA, but addressing what I found disappointing in the Gale crater composite. I am and always have been a big fan of NASA. If I worked for NASA on oversight, I would be equally upset to find the flaws in the image. When NASA puts their finished homework out there for the public to grade I expect better. I realize that this image is probably the result of a small handful of people at NASA and this should not reflect on NASA as a whole. The point of the video is that when you see even one area that is not accurate, it opens up the entire image for question

